FAW Tier two league formed in 1990


Champions Llandudno were promoted to the Welsh Premier league for the first time with Cefn Druids and Prestayn Town relegated to the Huws Gray Alliance

The respective champions of the feeder leagues, Llanfair United, Gresford Athletic and Holywell Town gained promotion with Llanidloes Town (after losing an appeal to the FAW), Llandrindod Wells, Penycae and Rhydymwyn all relegated, the later with the lowest ever number of points again.

A close start to the season saw three points separating the top five and by Christmas Cefn Druids and Caernarfon Town leading the way. The league suffered one of its worst ever for postponements with games lost ever week five months which disrupted the flow.

By Easter it was a two horse race with Caernarfon top of the table by seven points although Cefn Druids did have two games in hand. At the bottom Rhayader Town were looking odds on to be relegated with fellow Mid-Wales sides Caersws and Llanfair United along with Mold Alex also looking vulnerable. By the end of April Caernarfon were clear favourites for the title and the seasons surprise team, Denbigh Town, separating them and Cefn Druids.

One of the best team performances seen in the league for a few seasons saw Caernarfon win the title with an emphatic seven nil win at Cefn Druids with the league's leading scoring Jamie Breese netting three.

But with Caernarfon failing to get the domestic licence Cefn had two games left to gain the three points they needed to finish as runners up and gain promotion back to the Welsh Premier league at the first attempt and this they did with two away wins at Porthmadog and bottom club Rhayader Town.

In cup competitions Denbigh Town did the league proud by becoming the first Huws Gray Alliance team to reach the final where they were beaten by TNS

Caernarfon Town became the fourth team in league history to win the "double" when they defeated Flint Town United at Conwy Borough in the final of the Huws Gray Cup

At the bottom it was not good reading for Mid Wales as Rhayader Town, Caersws and Llanfair United finished as the bottom three sides