Holywell Town

With the League of Wales commencing in August 1992, the Cymru Alliance saw eight of its members leave for the national league, creating somewhat of a void in the more established competition.

Newly formed Cefn Druids (created after a merger between Cefn Albion and Druids United), Rhos Aelwyd, Ruthin Town, Wrexham Reserves (all from the Welsh National League Wrexham Area), Knighton Town, Rhayader Town (both from the Mid Wales League) and Rhyl (Northern Premier League) filled the vacancies created by the formation of the League of Wales. Mid Wales League runners-up Morda United were thwarted in their bid to join the Cymru Alliance, when the FA prevented the Shropshire club becoming full members of the FAW, a condition of league membership.

The battle for the championship was, for the majority of the season, a five-way race between Lex XI, Llansantffriad, Rhyl, Welshpool Town and Wrexham Reserves. As the campaign moved into the New Year, Rhyl, Welshpool and Wrexham Reserves began to pull away from their rivals, although Lex XI and Llansantffriad, who were still involved in the Welsh Cup and Intermediate Cup, had games in hand.

The Saints eventually prevailed, winning promotion to the League of Wales, ahead of local rivals Welshpool, Rhyl and Wrexham Reserves’. Llansantffriad claimed a double by beating Brecon Corries in the Welsh Intermediate Cup final, but were defeated by Newtown in the Central Wales Challenge Cup final in their attempt to land a treble. Despite finishing third, on the return to Welsh football, Rhyl overcame Gresford Athletic in the League Cup final, and reached the Welsh Cup final, where they lost 5-0 to Cardiff City - having defeated two League of Wales clubs (Connahs Quay Nomads and Haverfordwest County) en route to the National Stadium.
With Llansantffriad continuing their rapid ascent towards the pinnacle of domestic football – the club was only promoted from the Montgomeryshire Amateur League in 1990 – they were replaced in the Cymru Alliance by Llanidloes Town, who were relegated from the League of Wales. With the league extended to 18 teams, there was no relegation at the end of 1992/93

27-04-2016 19:45
Holywell Town 1 : 1 Porthmadog
27-04-2016 18:30
Llanfair United 0 : 1 Conwy Borough
26-04-2016 19:30
Guilsfield 0 : 1 Cefn Druids


Pd Pts
1 Caernarfon Town 27 66
2 Denbigh Town 30 63
3 Cefn Druids 27 60
4 Guilsfield 28 50
5 Holywell Town 27 49
6 Holyhead Hotspur 29 46
Link to the full table

SM Davies Transport

Wrexham brickwork